I swear it’s safe!

I don’t really talk enough about how much I love the community I’ve become a part of thanks to my job as an online marketer in higher education. I ranted about my amazing experience at HighEd Web Buffalo back in October (admittedly, an incredibly scatter-brained, excitement-filled post), but that was seriously just the beginning.

Because I use social media everyday as part of my job, I spend a lot of time on Twitter. I listen (I guess I read…) a lot of great conversation about development in my field, things that go on all over the world, and what’s going on with other people that do what I do. As strange as it sounds, I meet a lot of great people online that are amazing resources for me professionally and personally.

Last night, I went to see the Sabres play the Capitals and noticed that someone on Twitter made a comment about also being at the game. She was someone who I’ve had some conversations with on Twitter, but never met. Before I got inside to my seat, she and I decided to meet up after the first period ended.

I felt like I was on a blind date, awkwardly standing by myself, checking my phone for messages. We finally met up and even though we talked for a few minutes, it was an awesome conversation! We talked about our jobs and the field, and naturally ended it with “we’ll have to meet up again!”

When I came back to my seat, my friends questioned where I had been, or why I would want to meet up with some random person I sort of don’t really know from Twitter. To me, it wasn’t a big deal, but to them it was the strangest thing. I never thought of it that way.

I’m happy to know that I’m a part of a community where something like meeting up with a person after talking to them on Twitter a few times is totally ok. I can look to these strangers for help and advice, and it’s the coolest feeling ever. I may not love my job all the time, but I’m pretty confident that it put me in the best network of professionals on the planet.

 

One thought on “I swear it’s safe!

  1. mhaithaca says:

    I did the same thing at Madison Square Garden in November, catching up in person between periods with a Twitter friend. Seemed like a perfectly natural thing to me, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

